The D. Harlan Wilson Book Prize

Guidelines for the 2013 D. Harlan Wilson Book Prize have been finalized. Here they are:


The D. Harlan Wilson Book Prize is presented annually by Raw Dog Screaming Press to a collection of short fiction or a novel. Sponsored by Wright State University-Lake Campus, the award takes its name from author, editor, critic and English professor D. Harlan Wilson, whose body of fiction and nonfiction engages multiple genres and styles. Submitted works should demonstrate an aesthetic of genuine innovation and originality that stands comfortably alongside RDSP’s library of titles. The award entails a cash prize of $1000 plus publication by RDSP.


Submissions for the first annual D. Harlan Wilson Book Prize will be accepted between February 1 and June 30, 2013. The winner will be announced by October 2013.


Submissions will be blind-judged by a committee of RDSP authors and editors. D. Harlan Wilson will select the winner from a small pool of finalists.

Submissions Guidelines

Please account for the following criteria:
  • Submissions should be anonymous. The author’s name must not appear anywhere on the manuscript and the title page should only contain the title. Submit manuscripts as .doc or .pdf files via this submission manager. Format according to industry-standard manuscript guidelines.
  • A formal cover letter with a biography and contact information should be attached separately.
  • Submissions should not exceed 80,000 words.
  • There is a $25 submission fee. You may submit more than one manuscript on the condition that each submission is accompanied by a $25 fee.
  • Simultaneous submissions to other publishers are permitted as long as authors promptly inform RDSP if their work is accepted elsewhere.
  • Submissions are open to authors living in the US.
  • Authors previously published by RDSP are not eligible.
  • Translations and works previously published by a professional press are not eligible.
  • Previously self-published works will be considered on the condition that they can be put out of print for at least six months before publication.
In the event that a winning manuscript does not present itself among the entries, RDSP reserves the right not to award the D. Harlan Wilson Book Prize.